The Morgan Perpetual Trophy was presented to St. Peter’s National School by Mr. Jim Morgan when he retired as Principal in 1987.

Mr. Morgan began his teaching career on 22nd October 1947 in Sheelagh N.S. He was, in 1948, invited to teach in Dromiskin by the formidable Canon Johnson and taught in St. Peter’s until his retirement in 1987. He was made Principal in 1958, succeeding his father Mr. Jim Morgan Senior.

The trophy is awarded to the 6th Class pupil who shows most care, compassion, respect and courtesy to fellow pupils and teachers. Each year the pupils of 6th class await, with great anticipation, the announcement of the winner. The winner is decided by the teachers in consultation with the students.

Winners to date are:

1988 Linda Hamill                            1989 Patricia Neary                   1990 Valerie Hamill

1991 Olivia Bannon                          1992 Liam Reilly                         1993 Shirli Muldoon

1994 Tomas Reilly                            1995 Eamonn Mc Keown         1996 Ciaran Murtagh

1997 Aideen Smyth                          1998 Mary Galligan                   1999 Fionnuala Mc Geough

2000 Jonathan Mc Gailey                2001 Liam Mernagh                  2002 Colin Rogan

2003 Yvonne Lennon                       2004 Kim Mc Quillan                 2005 David Dolan

2006 Laura Bray Mc Knight             2007 Christopher Morgan        2008 Lisa Neary

2009 Shane Mc Quillan                    2010 Liam Fussey                    2011 Hannah Keenan

2012 Ciara Mc Mahon                       2013 Anu Mc Carron               2014 Aaron Neary

2015 Nadine Dewnerain/Sara Kelly        2016 Vanessa Hearty      2017 Niamh Fanning                       

2018 Fionnuala Johnston                2019 Adam Cassidy                  2020

2021                                                      2022                                            2023 Emma O’Leary